These weekly Meet the Author zoom meetings with narrative practice authors brought people together during 2020 from different parts of the world. This meant a great deal to us during the pandemic. As the pandemic continues, so too do these Meet the Author events! We are now looking forward to the 2021 season! These are being hosted by Dulwich Centre Foundation, the University of Melbourne and Evanston Family Therapy Center (USA).

Upcoming meetings:

The next Meet the Author session features David Newman

‘Dictionary of Obscure Experiences’ & placing anxiety and depression in context

Tuesday 20th April

4:30pm (Adelaide time)

This meeting will be facilitated by Tileah Drahm-Butler (of the Darumbal/Kulilli and Wanyurr Majay Yidinji Nations). Joseph Kalisa (Rwanda) will be offering reflections.

This Meet the Author is with narrative therapist David Newman and his work with young people experiencing significant mental health struggles. To prepare for this discussion, please read the following two pieces. One is an earlier paper ‘Using narrative practices with anxiety and depression’ and the other is the current version of ‘A Dictionary of Obscure Experiences’ generated from the lived wisdom of young people.

And the bring your questions for David!

The meeting will take place for one hour at the following times:

Adelaide – Tuesday, 20 April at 4:30 pm
Brisbane – Tuesday, 20 April at 5 pm
Wellington – Tuesday, 20 April at 7 pm
Beijing – Tuesday, 20 April at 3 pm
Hong Kong – Tuesday, 20 April at 3 pm
Tokyo – Tuesday, 20 April at 4 pm
Kigali – Tuesday, 20 April at 9 am
Johannesburg – Tuesday, 20 April at 9 am
London – Tuesday, 20 April at 8 am
Paris – Tuesday, 20 April at 9 am

Register in advance for this meeting: https://unimelb.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZEvdu2sqjMvHtbGro7oEKwuwrqtmdcRkhWg

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

These events are organised by Dulwich Centre, Evanston Family Therapy Center and University of Melbourne. They are free, not recorded, and go for one hour.

Previous meetings:

The next Meet the Author session features Lúcia Helena Abdalla

Narrative responses to the pandemic in Brazil

Tuesday 13th April

9:30am (Adelaide time)

This meeting will be facilitated by Tileah Drahm-Butler (of the Darumbal/Kulilli and Wanyurr Majay Yidinji Nations). Jill Freedman will be offering reflections.

As the pandemic continues to ravage Brazil, narrative practitioners are seeking to respond in creative and thoughtful ways. Please read the following three pieces by Lúcia Helena Abdalla and Recycling Minds and then bring your questions to ask Lúcia!

 

The next Meet the Author session features Marnie Sather

Illuminating skills and knowledges of women who have lost a male partner to suicide: A feminist insider narrative practice research project

Tuesday 30th March

9:30am (Adelaide time)

This meeting will be facilitated by Tileah Drahm-Butler (of the Darumbal/Kulilli and Wanyurr Majay Yidinji Nations). Jill Freedman will be offering reflections.

Marnie has just submitted her PhD thesis about her feminist insider research! For this Meet the Author, please watch the below seminar Marnie recently gave and bring your questions!

The next Meet the Author session features Mehmet Dinc

4 collective projects from Turkish narrative practitioner Mehmet Dinc

Tuesday 23rd March

4:30pm (Adelaide time)

This meeting will be facilitated by Tileah Drahm-Butler (of the Darumbal/Kulilli and Wanyurr Majay Yidinji Nations).

This one hour zoom session is a chance to discuss with Mehmet Dinc four recent collective projects. Please view these all prior to attending the session:

And then bring your questions for Mehmet!

The meeting will take place for one hour at the following times:

Adelaide – Tuesday, 23 March at 4:30 pm
Brisbane – Tuesday, 23 March at 4 pm
Wellington – Tuesday, 23 March at 7 pm
Beijing – Tuesday, 23 March at 2 pm
Hong Kong – Tuesday, 23 March at 2 pm
Tokyo – Tuesday, 23 March at 3 pm
Kigali – Tuesday, 23 March at 8 am
Johannesburg – Tuesday, 23 March at 8 am
London – Tuesday, 23 March at 6 am
Paris – Tuesday, 23 March at 7 am

9:30am (Adelaide time)

Tileah Drahm-Butler is an Aboriginal woman of the Darumbal/Kulilli and Wanyurr Majay Yidinji Nations of Queensland, Australia and lives in Cairns, North Queensland. Tileah is a social worker with a Master of Narrative Therapy and Community Work. Tileah works in the emergency department of a busy regional hospital and is on the Dulwich Centre International Teaching Faculty where she leads the teaching of narrative therapy and community work through an Aboriginal lens in Australia and internationally. Tileah has also been appointed as Co-chair of Feminisms, Intersectionality and Narrative Practice at Dulwich Centre.

This meeting will be facilitated by Joseph Kalisa (Rwanda). Jill Freedman (United States) will be offering reflections.

To prepare for this Meet the Author, please read this chapter by Tileah from the book Aboriginal Narrative Practice: Honouring Storylines of Pride, Strength and Creativity, Tileah’s Friday Afternoon Video and the below video with Zan Maeder and Tileah about decolonising gender and sexuality.

And then bring your questions for Tileah!

4:30pm (Adelaide time)

Jill Faulkner comes from Aotearoa (NZ); however, she has lived more of her life on Aboriginal lands than on her own grandfather’s country. She has worked with children, families and communities for more than 30 years. Jill’s thinking and work are shaped by the multiple relationships and storied journeys that she has travelled alongside these folks. Jill is a grassroots worker committed to supporting space for people to engage in healing of past hurts and to work for systemic and structural reform.

This meeting will be facilitated by Tileah Drahm-Butler (of the Darumbal/Kulilli and Wanyurr Majay Yidinji Nations).

To prepare for this meeting, please read this chapter by Jill Faulkner Responding to women in prison who have used interpersonal violence: a narrative approach disrupting binaries’

This chapter was recently published in the book Intersecting Stories: Narrative therapy reflections on gender, culture and justice

And then bring your questions for Jill!

9:30am (Adelaide time)

David Newman, a narrative therapist, generates and shares ‘living documents’ created from the words of young people at a youth in-patient mental health unit.

To prepare for this Meet the Author, please read David’s article: Explorations with the written word in an inpatient mental health unit for young people

And the resource The things to get you through – Young people’s tips.

And then bring your questions for David!

Your host will be Tileah Drahm-Butler. Jill Freedman will also be offering reflections.

4:30pm (Adelaide time)

This meeting will be facilitated by Tileah Drahm-Butler (of the Darumbal/Kulilli and Wanyurr Majay Yidinji Nations).

The next Meet the Author session is a chance to talk with Zan from Rad Counselling (https://www.radcounselling.com.au/) about their work with queer young people and their loved ones.

Please watch Zan/Rosie’s video

Read their article Queer Invitations: Fostering connection between queer young people and their loved ones and have a look at this thoughtful resource: Talking about pronouns and gendered language

9:30am (Adelaide time)

This meeting will be facilitated by Tileah Drahm-Butler.

“At the time I had this conversation with Michael White I was part of the group that produced the American Family Therapy Academy newsletter. We had created a series of questions to ask a number of prominent family therapists. Luckily Michael was happy to use these questions as a starting point for a conversation, rather than as a limitation for what we might talk about. This is a portion of that interview. It gives me great pleasure to revisit it. I hope you too enjoy it.” Jill Freedman

To prepare for this meeting please watch this video recording of Jill Freedman interviewing Michael White: